Facebook updates Workplace progress a year on – and adds desktop app

It has been a year since Facebook officially went public with Workplace, its enterprise-focused tool – or rather, it has been a year since Facebook rebranded and made the product generally available.

This first birthday is therefore an apt time to reflect on the product’s growth, and a post from Julien Codorniou, VP Workplace at Facebook, gives some interesting statistics. More than 30,000 organisations are using Workplace worldwide – double that of six months ago – with more than one million groups being created in total.

Marquee customers include Walmart, who this publication described as a ‘key win’ when signing up last month, Heineken, Spotify, and Lyft. Yet it is the stories of what companies are doing rather than the companies themselves, that make the most interesting reading. Delta, for instance, used Workplace to coordinate their disaster response strategies when hurricanes struck the US, while a video uploaded by an Oxfam employee about his work helping bring clean water to a village in Yemen became a ‘key fundraising asset’ for the charity.

Facebook is expanding on these efforts by adding a desktop chat app to Workplace – “many customers rely on messaging for real-time, reliable communication”, noted Codorniou – as well as in the coming weeks adding support for group video chat on desktop and mobile.

All things considered, however, plenty of progress has been made over the past 12 months. “It’s been an incredible year, and we can’t wait for what’s to come,” added Codorniou.

You can find out more here.

Postscript: As per a tweet from Codorniou, Facebook celebrated its birthday by issuing a full page advert in the Financial Times (FT), thanking ‘all the customers and partners who have joined us so far.’ The advert does not disclose that one of those customers was the FT itself, who originally signed up, when the product was still called Facebook at Work, in March 2016, as this publication reported.

Related Stories

Leave a comment

Alternatively

This will only be used to quickly provide signup information and will not allow us to post to your account or appear on your timeline.